Couch Potato

I am a couch potato… I would much rather sit and play solitaire, or sit and read or sit and watch nonsense on the television than actually get up and do something.  This is one of my challenges when it comes to the lifestyle changes I am making.

If you know me, you know how much I love to read.  I could read all day and not even realize the day has simply gone by.  In fact, I have done this. Spent the day in my pj’s, drank cup after cup of tea and read, then realize it has gone way beyond the supper hour.

This is one of the struggles I am facing. Finding the inspiration and the want-to to get up and workout. I need to find the workout that works best for me. I have done weight lifting using soup cans and am going to invest in some good weights. At least that way when I am in couch potato mode, I can sit and do the lifts to tone my arms and shoulders.

This is a journey towards changing my life, being a healthier me. I have a lot of support in my life right now and hope that all of my supporters continue to be with me while going through these changes. There will be times when I will want to quit and give up, but nothing that is worth keeping, is easy to obtain.

I hope that one day someone can look towards me and see me as an example and as a supporter as they take stock and want to change their life to be a healthier person.

3 thoughts on “Couch Potato

  1. When I first started using my elliptical I would hop on it with a book and before I knew it, an hour and a half had passed. It was my time and I took advantage of it. I certainly wouldn’t expect you to spend that much time on your gazelle or other machine starting out, but give it a try – grab your book and start plugging away. Aim for 6 minutes. Soon enough you’ll be aiming for a half hour so that you can get that chapter over and done with and then you’ll want to move on to the next chapter and another 10 minutes. You can do this. 🙂
    Also, find some really fun (but short) workouts online – PopSugar has some great ones available on YouTube. Having fun with your workout is what will help keep you motivated. It’s when it becomes a chore that failure happens.

    • I am actually just going to update this and get on my gazelle for a few minutes while watching Jack Tripper. Thank you so much for your support as I change my lifestyle. You are truly a wonderful and loving person.

      • Jack Tripper is bomb-diggity. And I promise you’ll forget you’re even working out. Slow and steady to start. Increase your speed/intensity (I don’t know if I know how that machine works) for ONE commercial of a commercial break (not the whole commercial). Then after a week of doing this try increasing your speed/intensity for two commercials of the break.

        I’m always here. And I love comments. LOVE THEM. Feel free to comment on my blog. And read the comment my mom left on Valentine’s Day about Russell. xoxox

Leave a comment